Designer Profile: KT Design, Inc.

May 22, 2010

Meet Kris Taft Miller aka KT Design, Inc. – just one of the designers who has helped make 99designs.com the #1 marketplace for crowdsourced logo design, web design, or any other design need!
Designer Profile: KT Designs, Inc. at 99designs.com

Designer Profile

Kris Taft Miller – Durham, NC USA
99designs handle: KT Design, Inc.
Projects entered: 65
Projects won: 13

How did you get started in design?

I graduated with a degree in elementary education but took a summer internship with Disney Animation where I re-discovered how much I loved graphic design and learned on the job from the pros. From there I spent 8 years at the studio in Florida and later Los Angeles before relocating to North Carolina with my husband and starting my own company as a freelancer.

YMCA Web Design

How do you get your inspiration for your web design?

I find I do a lot of designing in my head before I even get to the computer. When I am about to fall asleep especially, designs are running through my head. Once I get to the computer I work organically and just try lots of different things to see how they look. I love designing things that are out of the box, colorful and fun.

Maitely Weismann Web Design

What led you to start using 99designs.com?

I stumbled on 99designs last year after returning from maternity leave and actually having a few spare moments to get caught up on the design world. I loved it immediately, the challenge and “game” of it all is a new element to work I already love doing. I also love the community of designers – getting inspired by those around you and their work.

Budi Bar Web Design

What is the most important thing designers can do to have success at 99designs?

I would say to really listen to the client, just like any other design project. Make the extra effort to reach out to the clients – try to accommodate their specific needs and give them something unique.

A Princess For You web design

What do you love most about being a designer?

I love the artistic element, the feeling of creating something from scratch. I love when my 2 year old comes in my office and asks me to show him what I ‘made’ today.

International Relief Teams Web Design

What tips would you give to clients running design projects on 99designs?

Be clear in your brief, give as many specifics as you can, including dimensions, file format, and as much detail as you can about what you are looking for. Designers will give you lots of options but they don’t want to feel like they are going in circles and designing blindly.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

9 Responses to “Designer Profile: KT Design, Inc.”

  1. Debashis Says:

    Hello Kris,
    Thank you for you valuable tips. I saw your recent winning designs. They are simply mind blowing; especially, I loved the vintage look you have given to the designs. Keep up great works :)
    Debashis.

  2. Jude Fernando Says:

    Hi Kris, very nice work:) You have a great feel for design and it shows. I love the playful designs, its something I never get right!!

    Jude


  3. Kris,

    your designs do stand out. Keep up the good work! And thank you for your valuable tips.

    Danijel

  4. Logos Says:

    I just love love love your work!
    Big Hug from Portugal ;)

  5. ulahts Says:

    Great work!
    Please make sure to check this website:
    http://logodesignswork.com/

    It looks like they have stolen a lot of other designer’s works from 99designs.

  6. george Says:

    some very nice works, your prints are lovely :)

  7. sunil Says:

    thanks for sharing this wonderful post

  8. Rayf Says:

    Nice Jobs.

  9. Sanoj Says:

    wow….amazing work kris….all the best for your future works


Comments are closed.

