Designer Profile: Neptune

December 8, 2009

99designs Profiles - Neptune

Designer Profile

Diane Murphy – Milwaukee, WI
99designs handle: Neptune
Projects entered: 301
Projects won: 49

How did you get started in design?

I graduated from Carroll University with a BA in Fine Art way back in the 80’s when there were no computers in the graphic art industry. I’ve had many different creative jobs over the years- photographer, painter, art director, and finally, mural artist. Then 12 years ago, a friend of mine gave me a copy of Illustrator and Photoshop, and I was hooked right away. I could not believe these amazing tools were out there. I ditched my ladders and paint brushes and taught myself how to use the software with books and on-line tutorials.

Host Hut Logo

How do you get your inspiration?

I would have to say I’m inspired by the incredibly creative work I see from fellow artists, by current cultural trends, and by imagination.

I imagine a logo design project as simply a problem to solve in the most original way possible. The process to me is a continuous stream of trial and error- a quest to find the perfect solution. The right logo is out there, waiting to be revealed.

Flannel Planet Logo

What led you to start using 99designs.com?

A friend of mine sent me the link a little over a year ago, knowing that I loved designing logos. I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.

I think it does help build clientele- I’ve had many contest holders contact me for further work.

I have met many designers on the site that have helped me with technical issues, inspired me, and at times, made me laugh out loud.

CollegeGoblin.com Logo

What are the three most important things that designers can do to have success at 99designs.com?

1) Before starting any design work for a contest, read the entire brief, any links from the contest holder, and any comments available in the discussion. This may seem like an obvious step to some, but when I first started participating in these contests, I would get halfway through the brief, get a scathingly brilliant idea, design it, then find out later it wasn’t even close. Had I read all the info I would have saved myself a lot of time.

2) Don’t get discouraged. It’s been my experience that most of the time spent designing for contests I didn’t win does not go to waste. The lessons learned and the experience gained proves to be quite valuable. Also, those rejected designs go on to inspire me and help save design time in future contests.

3) If you are new, I think it’s better initially to stay away from those big prize contests with hundreds of submissions. There are just too many designs for the CH to review and give proper feedback. I think it’s better to forget about the prize amount, and enter the smaller contests that are giving good feedback.

Sugar Pop Records

What do you love most about being a designer?

I like that my very left-sided brain works differently than those who think more with the right side. It makes me feel like I have a secret weapon.

Share

8 Responses to “Designer Profile: Neptune”

  1. Spencer Says:

    Great 3 points about entering on 99D. Totally agree with all of them, especially #2. All the hours I’ve poured into the website contests I’ve entered have only made me a much stronger designer and I’ve still got a ways to go. Great designer profile!

  2. designfollow Says:

    I read a few topics. I respect your work and added blog to favorites

  3. Kandar Ag. Says:

    Thanks, Neptune… your points are very great to me as a new comer to 99designs.com. Love to see your cuties green little devil above! And wow…!!! You won 49 times! I have none so far, but someday I will…

    Have a great time! GBU.

    Kandar Ag. (Born_J)

  4. Rick Says:

    Congrats on all the wins, Diane! You’re a great designer and deserve it!
    all the best
    rick

  5. UrbanDigs Says:

    Neptune – how do I invite you to a future contest I will hold for a total new look I need for my blog urbandigs.com?

    About to launch a suite of analytical tools to compliment my blog on Manhattan real estate.

    Just signed up for 99designs, and will setup contest soon. Would like to invite you to it?

  6. icals Says:

    wow ..
    congratulations Neptune, 49 wins. I still have a lot to learn from you, as a newcomer to the 99D. thanks for the info and input, thanks

  7. vijay Says:

    hi, please get intouch with me I need some design work done,

    thank you and I look foward to speaking with you in a bit.

    Vijay

    415 438 XXXX

    vj@XXXXXXXXX.com

    (FYI Contact Information has been moderated but it was passed on to the designer – cheers Jason)


Comments are closed.

