Crowdsourcing a new site – conversation with lystie.com

July 10, 2009

It seems that everybody is always looking for new ways to stay organized… I know I am. I have tried all sorts of task managers, but I have yet to find a system that I could really stick with. It turns out I am not alone and Michael Johnston, founder of Lystie.com, is actually doing something about it.

Lystie LogoLystie an online tool for managing lists, todos, projects and the like. As you can imagine, a lot goes in to getting a project like Lystie off the ground. That’s why Mike decided to experiment with crowdsourcing and give 99designs.com a try.

He first ran a design project to get the Lystie logo and chose the design pictured here by keegan. Mike was so impressed he decided to run a second contest for the web interface. He just wrote a great post chronicling his first steps on his blog and I was able to catch up with him to have quick conversation about his experience.  Lystie will be in beta soon and you can sign up here to get on the list.

Share

2 Responses to “Crowdsourcing a new site – conversation with lystie.com”


  1. […] little while later he interviewed over Skype about Lystie and my experience using their service.  The interview can be found here. Share and […]


  2. […] Yesterday, I wrote a post wherein I described my experiences crowdsourcing a new online list management application. One of the the highlights of that post was a relatively new service, called 99Designs, which provides an amazingly effective method of getting quality design work. After that post, I got a call from 99Design’s Jason Aiken, and we talked about my experiences. […]


Comments are closed.

