Guaranteed Contest Payouts

October 24, 2008

We are hard at work on automating the guaranteed contests and prepaid contests system that we recently blogged about. In the meantime we will be paying out designers on Tuesday mornings (Melbourne, Australia time), on a weekly basis.

Bear with us while we make this process seamless! If you are concerned about getting design files to the contest holder quickly, you can tick the “I have been paid” option in the Design Handover and provide the files immediately, your payment will occur in the following payment cycle (the following tuesday morning).

Preference in payment will be given to PayPal and MoneyBookers payments. Neither of these payment methods will incur a fee. Western Union and Wire Transfer may take up to two weeks, depending on the volume. Third party fees for these methods will be deducted from the prize.

11 Responses to “Guaranteed Contest Payouts”

  1. Rodney Says:

    I wish you could have notified the people involved directly.

    I prepaid a contest and selected a designer about 4 days ago and I’ve sent a couple of emails to request that they be paid and the designer also sent 2 emails requesting to be paid with no response.

    We definitely need some better communication on the payment end. It makes the contest holder look bad when they prepay a contest and the designer doesn’t get paid in a timely manner.

    I still haven’t received the files for my contest because the designer hasn’t been paid.

  2. Allie Hylton Says:

    Is it possible to payout twice a week _at least_? Contest Holders pretty much want their files right away, and designers won’t provide those files unless they’re paid. What if a winner was chosen on a Wednesday? . . . They would have to wait 6 days to receive payment and the CHs won’t get their files.

    I think once a week is a bare minimum that only seems to be a convenience for the 99designs staff and not their clientele. Perhaps this can be rethought?

  3. Dustin Says:

    Allie, I believe this is in place till they get the system working seamlessly. I could be wrong, but that is the way I understood it.

  4. Design President Says:

    I believe that designers should provide designs to the contest holder immediately regardless of wether or not 99designs has paid them. The contest has been guaranteed, and there’s no reason not to trust 99designs with payment with the understanding that they will be paid within 7 days.

    In a traditional client/artist relationship, it is not uncommon to wait up to two months for the final check, and prior to this the work is delivered in high rez format. having to wait just a few days for 99designs to pay is quite reasonable compared to that scenario. I encourage artists to send work as soon as they can and to trust 99designs with payment.

    I see this as more of a communication problem then a trust problem.

  5. Maria Says:

    Hello! I have the same problem as you, but I´m a designer. Unfortunatly I had no answear from 99designs, I wrote several times, asking what was going on. The CH found here, in the blog, that the payments were only on tuesdays, but at least I think this should be an answear from them….

  6. jeiru Says:

    I kinda agree with Allie, I think the prize money should be sent at most 2 days after the files have been sent. A week is a bit long.

    Anyway, I trust 99staff are always doing their best improve the site and its system so I am sure they will find a way.

  7. Justin Says:

    I have to agree with Design President, “I believe that designers should provide designs to the contest holder immediately…there’s no reason not to trust 99designs with payment” When a contest is guaranteed, why not just hand over the files. 99designs will def get you paid. Waiting a week to get paid is nothing in this industry. If you are a regular freelancer, you know it could take up to 90 days from completion to get paid. What’s new here. If waiting a week to get paid is too long, I don’t know what to tell you, you may have a cashflow problem on your hands…

  8. Simolio Says:

    I agree with Jeiru and Allie

  9. vikito Says:

    Hi, how is the procedure for the payoner cards going?


  10. @vikito: It’s still going. ;-)

    I’d love to put a timeframe on it, but the truth is: a lot goes into setting up this type of service. Rest assured, we’re hoping to offer Payoneer cards as soon as possible. Stay tuned to this blog for future updates.

  11. vikito Says:

    thanks for the answer :)


Comments are closed.

