Vote For This Month’s Best Design

June 25, 2008

Update: The voting deadline has been extended to the 4th of July.

The time has come to vote for the winning entry for the Win a MacBook competition. We are thrilled with the response, nearly 800 entries are in the running! We have put together a page for you guys to vote on your favorites. Voting will be open for 7 days, after which the design with the most votes will be the winner!

You can only vote if you signed up before June 20th. We will be discounting votes from duplicate accounts (yes, we are well aware of these).

Click here to Vote Now!

30 Responses to “Vote For This Month’s Best Design”

  1. Serdar Says:

    I have mostly entered into logo design contests here. But I think the winning entires in other categories have a slight disadvantage with this voting system; it is harder to get the impression of a web page design from the litlte thumbnails, keeping in mind that you browse fast through the entires, while voting.

  2. psygn Says:

    Is it frowned upon if we like our own designs? ;-)

  3. Gandecruz Says:

    “vote for THIS MONTH’S Best Design” is this means it will be regularly every month? hehehe

  4. Gandecruz Says:

    and the macbook will be every month too ? curiosity is very high!!!

  5. Gandecruz Says:

    also, for the voting system.. could it be presented like some gallery thumbnail.. it’s hard when it’s random.. same thumbnail keep coming out even after i click “next 5 design” ( and 796 thumbs / 5 = 160 clicks.. that will break my mouse, lol )


  6. The voting system has been designed so you don’t necessarily have to view every single image, in fact you probably won’t. Just pick 5 designs you really like and move on once you’re sick of pressing “show me 5 more designs”. Creates some randomness and gives everyone a chance.

  7. psygn Says:

    Yeah, I’m a web designer and there are far more logo designers here than there are web designers and I feel they may enjoy voting for logo designs (they also tend to be cleared because they don’t take up so much vertical space… the web designs lose clarity because of that).

    Maybe in future contests (if you have any more) you can hold different design categories?

  8. trendez Says:

    The voting system is maybe not effective. You get tired of browsing “next 5 designs” and may choose something and miss the ones that come later. If you have bad luck your design might be at last when in random. Anyway, good going.


  9. Trendez, it’s still better than showing 800 entries spread over a number of pages. If we had done that then designs at the very end would be massively disadvantaged. Any other suggestions would be welcome :)

  10. Nadia P Says:

    Maybe separate them into 2 categories (or 3 whatever the case maybe).. logo / web design/other ???

  11. ClaX Says:

    Yea i think it definitely needed to be categorized. Web site designers are at a massive disadvantage.

    Maybe next time.

  12. Usamah M. Ali Says:

    This is really a poorly architectured voting system and I’m not going to take part in with its current state. Maybe as Nadia has said, you could put the designs into categories for better classification. I for one, am eager to give my votes for web page designs not logos. Much effort and talent is put into these mockups that logos, but this is of course just me.

  13. Gandecruz Says:

    maybe 30 or 40 thumbnails a page (with the lightbox too) ? put webdesign and other categories too in random, not in particularly order. it will be more effectively i think just too click about 20 or 30 times.


  14. I agree that people are less likely to choose a web page over a logo which is unfortunate, but if you categorized the designs by logos, web pages, and other designs and forced votes across each category, it would swing the advantage hugely in favor of those categories with less overall designs in them – so web pages would get an unfair advantage over logos.

    I think the current system works well. You look at 5 designs and if you see one you like you add it to your favorites. You can vote on 1 design or 5 designs, it’s entirely up to you. When you’re sick of viewing more designs you walk away.

    You DON’T have to view every single design for this voting system to work. That’s the whole idea of it.

    It’s easier on voters because they don’t have to view 800 design for this to work, with pure weight of numbers (i.e. lots of people voting) the most popular design will eventually float to the top anyway, even if you only get to see 50 designs. It’s actually a pretty clever technique when you think about it.

  15. Nadia P Says:

    Mark – Out of curiosity/interest, is there a breakdown of how many logos vs how many web pages in the contest?


  16. I don’t have the stats in front of me, but I would say that it would be close to one out of every five to six designs is a web page. I’m sure Paul will chime in here with the exact number, but I’m normally pretty close with my educated guesses ;)

  17. Paul Annesley Says:

    One out of every five point three designs actually (19%) – you’re going to have to work on the decimal precision of your estimates I’m afraid, Mark.

  18. Nadia P Says:

    Thank guys, I’ll let you quibble over pecentage points :-)
    The logo designers certainly do have the advantage then… hmmm

  19. tom baxter Says:

    Hey up – I don’t know if anyone else has had a similar experience but I took an Artist friend out for dinner last night and he mentioned he had won a logo design competition I think it was for a Music charity in the UK and he has been trying to get his money it was only £100 quid and no one has paid up does this happen a lot with these competitions….

  20. Angela Says:

    Viewing the entries is not very effective IMO. 5 random ones at a time, and I’ve clicked “next 5” loads of times, and have seen several designs pop up several times where there are others I have yet to see. Going through them in order is much fairer, simply due to the fact that it would take LESS TIME to see all of the designs that way. The way it is, I predict if I continue clicking “view another 5”, I may get to see all of them by christmas, if I’m lucky.

  21. psygn Says:

    “I agree that people are less likely to choose a web page over a logo which is unfortunate, but if you categorized the designs by logos, web pages, and other designs and forced votes across each category, it would swing the advantage hugely in favor of those categories with less overall designs in them – so web pages would get an unfair advantage over logos.”

    But then it could be said that logos are already at an advantage over web designs because of the amount of logo designs compared to web designs. There’s no easy solution for this, so the web designers will have to suffer for now.

    “I think the current system works well. You look at 5 designs and if you see one you like you add it to your favorites. You can vote on 1 design or 5 designs, it’s entirely up to you. When you’re sick of viewing more designs you walk away.”

    It works, but I think there’s plenty of room for improvement. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I see the same entries appearing multiple times while searching for my own (would it be difficult to code random 5 designs without repeats?). I don’t think many people would look at all the designs, and there’s no way as of current to know that you have. So the luck factor becomes even higher using this method.

    “You DON’T have to view every single design for this voting system to work. That’s the whole idea of it.

    It’s easier on voters because they don’t have to view 800 design for this to work, with pure weight of numbers (i.e. lots of people voting) the most popular design will eventually float to the top anyway, even if you only get to see 50 designs. It’s actually a pretty clever technique when you think about it.”

    It will be interesting to see the tally on the top designs. The results will speak for itself, and I can’t really criticize this method.

    Maybe a % or number of entries seen out of total, and a way to keep entries from reappearing. Too much to ask? :S

    Are you guys planning on having another monthly contest? The title of this blog post hints at it.

    Thanks for the contest!

  22. Rich Says:

    sorry about the conspiracy theory but what are the chances of someone who desperately wants a mac book opening multiple accounts or getting all their friends to vote for themselves? : O

    Your right that in theory the most popular design will rise to the top but maybe this would change things?

  23. Paul Annesley Says:

    Rich: only accounts created before the voting began are allowed to cast votes.

  24. Nadia P Says:

    I believe the randomness of the entries showing up was probably designed with this in mind. :-)

    As far as I can see,(after a little testing today),the webpage designers are really disadvantaged. I should have 5-6 entries in this comp. but after pressing the ‘next’ button, probably 100 times,(a wild guesstimate :-) I only managed to see one of them while other designs (mostly logos) came up 2-3 times… that’s what is unfair about the system running currently I think.

  25. trendez Says:

    I have not been able to see my own design once. LOL. You can imagine if I get tired finding my own design, how will people find it? You could have categorized them, and then display as small thumbnails, only 3-4 clicks would be enough for it. Whoever wins will be the luckiest one in the world :D


  26. The whole point is it’s all random. Provided enough people view enough entries, luck doesn’t come into it.

    Any one entry has as much chance as another of being shown to a user. It’s really the only way to do this fairly.

    Trendez: Finding a specific entry amongst 800 is admittedly time consuming. That’s not such a bad thing :)

  27. jo'sthego Says:

    From a creative perspective, whichever design it is, it should stand out on it’s own merit, whether it be web, logo or other. I feel the process is fair – design is about impact – communication without the necessity to read all the finer points.

    I was looking to see what was communicating creativity and perspective in relation to the business activity being promoted.

    Good luck to all who have taken the time to click away!!

  28. Emma Taylor Says:

    Wow took me a while to sift through all the designs. I finally found mine and added it to the vote. Heh – doubt I’d win though :P. There was some really lovely work in there, found a few nice website designs and logos that captured my attention.

    I agree about having the next contest categorised. Or even holding different contests for different categories? I dunno.

    Good luck to all of you!

  29. Rodney Says:

    Even with 800 plus designs to vote on, I think in this case, if they were shown all on one page, as small thumbnails, it would allow people to scan and see which designs stick out…

    …I just finished voting and after the whole process, I can sorta see the reason for the 5 at a time voting, but I think I still wish I had the *option* to view more at a time.

    I also wish there was an option to go *back*. Twice I clicked through (opened a new FF tab) to view a web design in full view, but then when I clicked back to the voting window, I accidentally went to the next 5 designs.

  30. ansys Says:

    Anyways whatever the reason is ie. logo vs webdesign vs others may the best design win.


Comments are closed.

