Site Down for Maintenance

May 9, 2008

*update* the site is back up

We are having problems with one of our database servers, should be back shortly.

41 Responses to “Site Down for Maintenance”

  1. snugbrimm Says:

    how long do you think? do you have any possible clue? if not i understand

  2. Lyte Says:

    When you make the changes, can you make me the winner of the Rachel Reinhardt contest? =D

  3. steve918 Says:

    D’oh, thanks for the heads up.

  4. Paul Annesley Says:

    Seems to be running nicely now :)

  5. Paul Annesley Says:

    A few designers may find that a design they submitted during the problem period is missing. Please resubmit if this is the case.

    Thanks for your patience, everyone.

  6. LJK Says:

    Couldn’t submit an entry w/ Opera
    but could w/ Firefox – huh?


  7. There has been an open issue in Opera for a a while now, vote on http://99designs.uservoice.com for it.

  8. sway Says:

    I dont know why 99designs.com works on my dads laptop but not on my pc, I always have to logon to 99designs.com via a proxy. And only even sometimes through proxies it stops working. Its been really really slow for the past week

  9. pegatinas Says:

    I know of a contest holder that wants to end their contest early but does not know how. Can anyone help?

  10. snugbrimm Says:

    did anyone else experience the 99designs page shrink down to a little 20 x 20 square with guarantee still big and readable about an hour or so ago? It actually first shrunk to about 60 x 60 then 2 seconds it was 40 x 40 then 2 seconds and it was 20 x 20. That was really odd and i tried to go back and it did go to the page i was viewing before but it was still 20 x 20. I had to exit out of my whole browser and leave for an hour and then when i came back on it was fine….that was weird, anyone know what that was about?

  11. Paul Annesley Says:

    pegatinas: sure – the contest holder can find the design they wish to award and click on ‘award prize’ to declare the winner and end the contest early.

  12. Paul Annesley Says:

    snugbrimm: woah… :) I believe there were some DNS problems effecting a lot of sites in the last 24 hours or so – it might have been something to do with that.

  13. Nadia P Says:

    Seems that “contest won” emails are not being sent out? Anyone notice this?

  14. pegatinas Says:

    Paul, thank you very much. I think that was the problem. The CH wanted 6 designs so I guess they never thought of clicking on one to award the win.
    Thanks again, it makes so much sense!

  15. snugbrimm Says:

    @Nadia P: “winner announced” e-mails or “you have won a design prize” e-mails. i don’t ever get the “you have won a design contest prize” e-mails so i wouldn’t know but i haven’t gotten a “winner announced” e-mail in a long time either but contests have been won, so i just assumed they stopped sending the “winner announced” ones. i hope they are still on track with the “you have won” e-mails <:?

  16. snugbrimm Says:

    how does sway get his face up there and i get some fruity pink design in mine…? unfair…

  17. Paul Annesley Says:

    snugbrimm: check out http://www.gravatar.com/ and upload a picture for your email address.

  18. bombardierbob Says:

    Thanks Paul for the info!


  19. Is anyone else getting the ‘invalid file format’ error when they try to upload a jpeg? It won’t let me upload a png or jpeg image file at the minute.

  20. loya Says:

    I can´t submit any entry, any body knows what´s happening?

  21. ABCisMe Says:

    Anyone else having trouble uploading? I am getting an error no matter what format my file is in or what browser I’m using…?

  22. createabit Says:

    I cannot view any of the entries full page view. It doesn’t matter if it is a jpeg or png file. Firefox is my browser. I didn’t start having this problem until today.

  23. oxygenestudios Says:

    I get a message “File uploaded in Screenshot or Thumbnail must be of type image/png, image/jpeg or image/gif” when I try to upload a design. Anybody? (I have tried all possible formats and different file sizes to no avail).

  24. snugbrimm Says:

    Thanks for the info Paul! Too bad I don’t have time right now, but peep this, I can’t upload pictures into contests! I get this message with all three file types: Errors Occurred:
    File uploaded in Screenshot or Thumbnail must be of type image/png, image/jpeg or image/gif Didn’t start having this problem til today and I’m on Internet Explorer…

  25. Squarelogo Says:

    I think it is fair to assume that everyone is having the issue. No new entries posted in hours!

  26. snugbrimm Says:

    it looks like others are having the same problem with different contests too

  27. Corser1 Says:

    I second that snugbrimm, unable to submit anything to any contest.

  28. lynrite Says:

    I also cannot upload any designs/file types using my Internet Explorer, and I keep getting that same error message when I try.


  29. We are investigating the issue, should be fixed shortly.


  30. The problem is fixed, sorry about that guys. If anyone requires a contest extension, please let support know.

  31. snugbrimm Says:

    Thanks for the quick fix guys! that was scary…

  32. nadia2p Says:

    Trying to see if my new avatar shows
    http://www.gravatar.com/)…. thanks for the link Paul :-)

  33. pegatinas Says:

    Who’s big idea was it to put “click to leave feedback” on the mouse rollover for each design?????

    BRILLIANT!!!

  34. Paul Annesley Says:

    pegatinas: Lachlan was experimenting with that idea, so I put it online without telling him ;)

  35. createabit Says:

    Was the site down for maintenance earlier today. I had trouble accessing the site for earlier.

  36. Nadia P Says:

    Email notifications (of any sort) do not appear to be working.

  37. Paul Annesley Says:

    Thanks Nadia – we had a disk failure which didn’t get picked up by any automatic monitoring but which prevented emails from going out.

    They should have all been sent by now.

  38. Nadia P Says:

    Yep, seems to have caught up on messages now, thanks Paul.

  39. Josh M Says:

    I’m trying to get onto 99designs.com, and I get as far as the splash page, showing popular designs and popular contests, but when I click login, my browser waits for a long time before displaying the ‘Connection timed out’ message.

    Is anybody else experiencing this problem?
    It’s been happening to me on and off for the last few weeks now, and was doing the same last night.

    I can’t access http://www.99designs.com through either firefox or internet explorer. This has been happening all night for me, and it has continued this morning.
    I can sometimes load the index page with popular designs and popular contests, but I can’t login or view any contests.
    Is anybody else having such problems?

    Cheers

  40. ShadySnaps Says:

    I cannot submit an entry into one of the contests. I get this message:
    Eeeeek!

    It seems there was a problem. The 99designs development team has been notified and are likely addressing the problem at this very minute. Sit tight, grab a coffee, we should be back on the air within minutes.

    Make sure you check out the blog for the latest on what’s happening, including any updates about downtime or known issues.

    Alternatively, try pressing the back button on your browser to try the operation again.
    I’ve been trying for the past 30 hours or so and nothing has been resolved. Anyone have any idea on what the problem is and what i could do?


Comments are closed.

