Slow Emails

February 15, 2008

We are currently experiencing an issue with email, which will show up as you either not receiving emails from 99designs, or them arriving very slowly. It seems AOL customers are especially affected.

We have implemented a fix which should fix the problem, please let us know if anyone is still experiencing problems.

Update 18-Feb: We have fixed all of the email problem, although due to some issues with our DNS configuration, certain mail services, such as hotmail, yahoo and godaddy email will continue to experience some delays for the next 24 hours. I have contacted each of these and asked them to speed things up, so its possible that it might be quicker than this. Sorry guys, thanks for your patience!

24 Responses to “Slow Emails”

  1. Sasha Says:

    Hi,

    I registered on your website today and still haven’t received the confirmation e-mail. Could this e-mail problem still be active? I tried resending couple of times but all the same. My username is klodvik.

    Thanks.

  2. Paul Annesley Says:

    Sasha: I’ve sent you a manual confirmation email.

  3. Sasha Says:

    Hi Paul,

    I’ve received your e-mail and replied as you asked me to but I’m still unable to login. Have you activated my account?

    Regards,
    Sasha.

  4. Paul Annesley Says:

    Sasha: You’re up and running now.

  5. Adam Says:

    Hey,

    I waited 5 days for my confirmation email when I was using Hotmail, and yet when I swapped to GoogleMail I got the email straight away.

  6. dirksdesign Says:

    I’m having the same issue.

  7. Nadia P Says:

    This may be helpful to those who use Firefox as their browser and who are using gmail for notification emails. There is an extension that puts a gmail icon in the browser taskbar and notifies you when new emails come in – very handy :-)

    Get the extension here:
    http://www.nexgenmedia.net/extensions/

  8. Shauryadeep Says:

    I did not recieve my confirmation e-mail.

  9. Yoricko Says:

    Hi, I’ve tied to register a few days ago but theres no activation e-mail or some sort. My username is Yoricko and I’ve tried to resend the activation mail twice.

    Thanks,

  10. Shauryadeep Says:

    My username is Ray Lead with e-mail shauryadeepc@hotmail.com
    Please try to send confirmationn email.

  11. Paul Annesley Says:

    Shauryadeep, Yoricko, dirksdesign: I’ve manually sent confirmation emails to all of you – please reply and we’ll get your accounts up and running straight away.

    Thanks for your patience.

  12. kroz Says:

    I thought this might be useful, so I’d share this. In my case all the notifications are automatically sent to my Bulk Mails Box since the switch to 99designs. Before, I used to receive all sitepoint notifications on mu Inbox.

  13. Nadia P Says:

    Is there a backlog of emails still to be sent through? Or are these lost in cyberspace if they were sent around the 17th?

    I’ve had a couple of people tell me they’ve sent PMs (which are going through email as we know), but I’ve not received them… (gmail account).

    I’ve had other contest emails come through ok through this time period – so thought this a little strange so I’m asking out of curiosity, plus the fact I don’t want to lose any PMs if they are important :-)

  14. Nadia P Says:

    Also, what’s the time delay on the digests being sent – I mean how long after a comment is made, or a design is submitted as these being sent out?


  15. It really depends on who your email provider is. The good news is that private messages are still stored in our system, and when we launch the PM interface today you will be able to read them.


  16. Digests are sent hourly, on the hour.

  17. Nadia P Says:

    Thanks Lachlan !

  18. Nadia P Says:

    This has been mentioned previously on the old contest forum, *but is there any way* to have an email sent when a winner is announced to a contest?? If we are subscribed to emails for a particularly contest, I don’t see why we can’t be notified by email when a winner is announced…

    This is going to be an addition somewhere along the line ??

  19. deltasquadron2 Says:

    Hi registered this weekend and have not received a confirmation email at all. Can you manually send me the email? Also, i think the site lost my original password as i tried the “forgot my password” feature to see if I would get an email (still nothing). Can you send me my password as well? My user name is “deltasquadron2”

    Thank you.

  20. Marius Says:

    Hi Paul! I registered on your website today and still haven’t received the confirmation e-mail. What I need to do to activate ?
    My username is mbalaj.

    Thanks!

  21. devilem Says:

    Hey, I registered your website today but I didn’t receive the confirmation email. I need to wait more or what? My username is ‘devilem’
    Thanks

  22. metwothree Says:

    I have also registered and not receive a confirmation email. Can you please look into this. My username is “metwothree”. Thanks in advance!

  23. HaXor Says:

    Hi, I regiestered and yet i haven’t recieved an confirmation email. I tried changing the email but still no confirmation. Is it possible i could get that manual?
    My username is HaXor


Comments are closed.

